web analytics

Archive for March, 2011

Simple Brilliant Error Proofing at the Amazing In-N-Out Burger

Simple Brilliant Error Proofing at the Amazing In-N-Out Burger

I was in L.A. on Tuesday and I had a little extra time on my way to the Burbank airport, which meant a rare treat…. lunch at the famed In-N-Out. I don’t mean to be that guy who tweets what he eats, but my lunch is pictured at left (click for a larger drool-inducing view […]

Does Setting a Goal for Number of Kaizens Violate “Kaizen Spirit”?

Does Setting a Goal for Number of Kaizens Violate “Kaizen Spirit”?

In discussions of “kaizen” (the Japanese word that is translated to “continuous improvement” or “change for the better”), I often hear of organizations talk about getting goals and targets for the number of kaizen ideas that employees come up with in a year? Long story short, the question for debate today: Does getting a goal […]

What’s Your Role in Hospital Quality?

What’s Your Role in Hospital Quality?

I snapped this pic while visiting a hospital earlier this year. This was out in the cafeteria as part of a series of signs that featured real people talking about their real role in quality. About LeanBlog.org: Mark Graban is a consultant, author, and speaker in the “lean healthcare” methodology. Mark is author of the […]

Command-and-Control Killed this Cosmonaut? Lessons for Our Organizations…

Command-and-Control Killed this Cosmonaut? Lessons for Our Organizations…

Lean is not a “command and control” leadership and management model. The old command-and-control dynamic leads to so much poor quality and misery in all sorts of industries and organizations – including factories and hospitals. In a command and control environment, directives flow down from senior leaders (“thou shalt do this”) and bad information tends […]

Weekend Fun: The Management Methods, They Are a-Changin’

Weekend Fun: The Management Methods, They Are a-Changin’

Fans of Bob Dylan and Mike Rother’s book Toyota Kata will appreciate this song especially: About LeanBlog.org: Mark Graban is a consultant, author, and speaker in the “lean healthcare” methodology. Mark is author of the Shingo Award-winning books Lean Hospitals and Healthcare Kaizen, as well as the new Executive Guide to Healthcare Kaizen. Mark is […]

Interview Today with Prof. Samuel Culbert – Questions on Annual Reviews?

Interview Today with Prof. Samuel Culbert – Questions on Annual Reviews?

Today, I am recording a podcast interview with Prof. Samuel Culbert from the UCLA Anderson School of Management.  He is author of the recent NY Times piece  “Why Your Boss Is Wrong About You” and the book Get Rid of the Performance Review!: How Companies Can Stop Intimidating, Start Managing–and Focus on What Really Matters. […]

An Astronaut’s Viewpoints on Systems & Patient Safety

An Astronaut’s Viewpoints on Systems & Patient Safety

Today, I’m sharing a brilliant Slate.com interview : “Risky Business: James Bagian—NASA astronaut turned patient safety expert—on Being Wrong.” He’s actually also an engineer and an anesthesiologist. An impressive background and impressive thinking. I will share a few highlights and some core themes, encouraging you to go and read the whole article (with comments and […]

Podcast #116 – Jim Womack, His New Book “Gemba Walks”

Podcast #116 – Jim Womack, His New Book “Gemba Walks”

Please upgrade your browser MP3 File (run time 24:31) Episode #116 is a chat with  Jim Womack, founder and former Chairman of the Lean Enterprise Institue, now their Senior Advisor and author of the new book “Gemba Walks,” available in paperback, Kindle format, iBooks, and other formats. Here, we talk about the new book, how […]

GM Blames Layoffs on the Japan Earthquake and JIT; Should Instead Look in Mirror

GM Blames Layoffs on the Japan Earthquake and JIT; Should Instead Look in Mirror

Let me give a big ole’ Texas-sized hat tip to Bob Emiliani for sending me this sad article with the headline“General Motors lays off workers at NY plant.” This is an addition to earlier Shreveport layoffs. The media will let GM off the hook as the parts shortages are the result of the tragic Japan […]

Updating “A Vision for a Lean Hospital”

Updating “A Vision for a Lean Hospital”

I am working on finishing up the revised and updated edition of my first book Lean Hospitals: Improving Quality, Patient Safety, and Employee Satisfaction. I’m adding new case studies and examples, refining the book in general, and adding some new topics like strategy deployment and A3′s. I’ve shared the first chapter of the book for […]

Collected Employee Engagement & Satisfaction Improvement Statistics – Lean Healthcare

I’m going to use this blog post / page to collect published statistics about the impact the Lean management philosophy has had on healthcare quality and patient safety. I have a similar page on quality and patient safety statistics here. If you have stats to submit,  email me or comment on the post. About LeanBlog.org: […]

*Moved* to New Hosting Servers; Questions for Womack Podcast?

*Moved* to New Hosting Servers; Questions for Womack Podcast?

Updated the tense of the post for Saturday morning: I’ve had a ton of downtime again the last few weeks, so I migrated the blog to servers at a new hosting company Friday night (with the valued assistance of Big Big Design, my site designer and technical advisor). There was some downtime Friday night and […]

Survey: Title & Subtitle for My Second Book on “Kaizen” and Continuous Improvement for Healthcare

Hi – As a reader of my blog, your input and thoughts are important to me. I am currently co-authoring a new book with Joe Swartz (from the Franciscan Health System in Indiana) on a subset of Lean methods, focused on daily continuous improvement for front-line staff and supervisors, primarily. Much of the “lean healthcare” […]

Check Out the Healthcare Value Network Podcast Series

Check Out the Healthcare Value Network Podcast Series

One of my projects with LEI and the Healthcare Value Network is a podcast series I am hosting featuring leaders from our various Network member organizations. I don’t have a LeanBlog Podcast this week, but if you are listening for more to listen to, I’d invite you to checkout these other podcasts. You can listen […]

From the LEI Summit: Mike Rother on Toyota’s View on ROI

From the LEI Summit: Mike Rother on Toyota’s View on ROI

I really had a great learning experience at last week’s LEI Lean Transformation Summit that was held here in Dallas. The event sold out six weeks in advance, so a lot of regular attendees got frozen out, unfortunately. All of the sessions were recorded and there will be a way to register to view them […]

From The Lean Edge: Alternatives to Hospitals Spending, Building, and Hiring More

From The Lean Edge: Alternatives to Hospitals Spending, Building, and Hiring More

Today, I’m linking to a response I gave on TheLeanEdge.org‘s blog that features some really well known Lean authors (people I really have learned a lot from, so it’s an honor to be included). The question they posed (which is hard if not impossible to figure out, due to the design of the site) is […]

Guest Post: From Ad-Hoc to Systematic Change: A Framework for Kaizen Event Programs

Guest Post: From Ad-Hoc to Systematic Change: A Framework for Kaizen Event Programs

Mark’s note: I’m happy to have a new guest blogger, Dr. Wiljeana Glover, from MIT, and a fellow member of the Society for Health Systems. The plan is that Wiljeana will be a regular guest blogger here. Greetings to the leanblog.org community.   My name is Dr. Wiljeana Glover and I am currently a Postdoctoral […]

Donations for Japan Earthquake Relief

Donations for Japan Earthquake Relief

Our thoughts and prayers are with our friends in Japan and everybody there dealing with the aftermath of the earthquake and whatever problems are yet to come. This article from Forbes gives some suggestions on how to donate and how to avoid online donation scams that often sadly follow natural disasters. CLICK TO DONATE From […]